Home

 

Interview with Former Band Member, Ahmed Tag Eldin

Ahmed

Interview by: Amy El-Zayaty; Junior Head Editor

1.)   How did you contribute to your band?

As a rhythm guitarist, I simply provided the backing chords for the lead guitarist and the other band members, the essentials for them to sing and solo over. As a band member however, I contributed to all band decisions with my opinion and propositions.

2.)   Would’ve you have preferred to have a different position? What were your strengths and weaknesses?

Like any guitarist, I would’ve loved to be the lead guitarist, the center of attention in any band, really. However, due to my inferior skills, compared to the lead guitarist, I was not able to become that person. Also, my shyness and stage fright added on to my weaknesses. As for my strengths however, I would have to say it is my ability to learn a song quickly, which benefited me many times on the nights before performing.

3.)   Describe the relationships you formed with your band members. Did you often disagree on the ideas each of you had for your music?

After around a year and a half, we were very close. Band practice did not simply consist of us playing the songs, it was more of time for us to bond and get our creative ideas flowing. Even though we all had a slightly difference taste in the music we preferred, these creative differences did not create a problem in fact, we saw it as an advantage to create more sophisticated and different music, by combining all of our preferences.

4.)   Why did your band break up, and how did you feel about it? Do you guys still keep in touch?

Even though the band broke up, it was long after I had moved from the US to Egypt. I wasn’t too happy to hear that after I had left, a conflict has started between the guitarist and the drummer, two very talented people, which eventually caused the break up. We do still keep in touch but, due to me being on the opposite side of the world, we cannot communicate as much.

5.)   Have you ever performed live?  If yes, what was the experience like? From preparing the stage to when it was over?

We have performed live several times and it is, by far, one of my favorite experiences. It makes you feel different, as if you were famous. You learn how to pack all of you instruments in a confined space such as my family’s mini-van (which we eventually became pros at doing), you develop the skill of setting up a whole stage of instruments in under 20-minutes, you watch as your stage fright slowly disappears, and you smile as all the people watching clap as you finish your set, it’s an exceptional experience!

6.)   What was the name of your band, and the story behind it?

At the beginning, the name of my band was Arsen, a simple word suggested by a friend on one of the band member’s Facebook profile. After having a few gigs, we decided to change it to Suburbia, a word taken from the title of the Green Day song, Jesus of Suburbia.

ghj

Leave a Reply

